Where does the herb dill come from?

Commonly referred to as dill-weed; it has tall Green stalks, which produce a white, flower like head and eventually, seeds. The soft green fronds make excellent seasoning for fish and the seed pods are often used in the process of pickling or preserving vegetables, such as cucumbers and green beans