Who invented brunch?

Guy Beringer Apparently brunch was first coined by English writer Guy Beringer, who suggested a new meal, served around noon, that starts with tea or coffee, marmalade and other breakfast fixtures before moving along to the heavier fare on Sundays to beat the old morning hangover.