Why is the earth so small?

The earth, along with inner planets Mercury, Venus, and Mars, are small compared to the outer planets Jupiter, Saturn and Uranus. The sun's gravitational pull on the inner planets has stripped them from their lighter elements, leaving them much denser, and smaller, than the outer planets.