What is a. s. s. a. t. e. a. g. u. e. spell?

Assateague is an island off the Atlantic coast of Virginia, famous for the wild ponies that are featured in the book "Misty of Chincoteague". Every summer ponies are rounded up and swum over to Chincoteague, a nearby populated island where some of the ponies get auctioned to enthusiasts.