What is in the green gables about?

It's the tale of a red-headed orphan girl named Anne Shirley, who lives on Prince Edward Island. She gets adopted by Matthew & Marilla Cuthbert, an elderly brother & sister duo who live on a farm called Green Gables. Anne brings unexpected adventure into their lives with her curiosity & imagination.