What was lawrence welk's ethnicity?

Welk was born in the German-speaking community of Strasburg, North Dakota. He was sixth of the eight children of Ludwig and Christiana Welk, ethnic Germans who immigrated to America in 1892 from Odessa, Ukraine, which was then part of the Russian Empire.