Why do cats scream?

One of the main reasons cats scream is because they're angry or afraid hence why cat screaming often happens during cat fights. Aging cats can show signs of confusion or dementia, and they may scream if they get startled or fearful of their surroundings. Cats may also scream if they're in distress.