Who invented the thumbs up?

The thumbs-up gesture has its roots in ancient Rome, where gladiators would literally live or die by it. "Pollice verso" is the Latin term for the gesture, meaning "with a turned thumb." It meant the opposite of today, for if you gave that sign, it meant the gladiator should be killed.