What's the difference between assume and presume?

Assume is supposing something to be the case without proof. Presume is supposing that something is the case on the basis of probability.

---

Presume implies some underlying knowledge about the topic; it is the best guess based upon some known facts. An assumption is usually based on fewer or no facts and is more of a random guess.