How many miles away is space?

From Earth, space is about 65 miles above our atmosphere. Where gravity is greatly reduced and temperatures are very hot and cold depending on whether exposed to sunlight. Earth itself is suspended within space but has a protective atmosphere and magnetic field relatively close to Earth.