Where is the real grand river?

The Rio Grande starts in the San Juan Mountains of southwestern Colorado, flowing to the southeast and south for 175 miles in Colorado, southerly for about 470 miles across New Mexico, and southeasterly for about 1,240 miles between Texas and Mexico, emptying into the Gulf of Mexico.