When did we find out the earth was round?

It remained a matter of speculation until the 3rd century BC, when Hellenistic astronomy established the spherical shape of the Earth as a physical fact and calculated the Earth's circumference.

---

The first person to propose that the Earth was round was Pythagoras, some time around 500BC. Some time during the next few decades, Anaxagoras gave proof, in the form of the Earth's shadow on the moon during a lunar eclipse.