Can ants jump?

O. rixosus as the only ant species that can jump with either its legs or its mandibles. Trap-jaw ants are known for using their powerful jaws to launch themselves into the air, somersaulting several times their own body length to evade predators.

---

O. rixosus as the only ant species that can jump with either its legs or its mandibles. Trap-jaw ants are known for using their powerful jaws to launch themselves into the air, somersaulting several times their own body length to evade predators.