Why is a hard bike seat better?

A hard bike seat is better because is allows all of the pedaling energy to be transferred to legs and feet. Rather than be absorbed by a soft seat. It is also though to support the rider's bone structure better. A softer seat may cause more chaffing, but could be more comfy on short rides.