What are the steps to hard boil an egg?

Subnerge the eggs in a pot of water, at least an inch above the eggs and boil. Once boiling, cover with a lid and remove pot from heat. Let eggs sit for 4-12 minutes, depending on desired consistency. When time is up, drain hot water and submerge the eggs in a bowl of ice water for about 10 minutes.