How long should you steep black tea?

3 to 5 minutes depending on your strength preference

---

Depending on the type of tea and the desired strength, the tea should be steeped for 3 to 10 minutes. English Breakfast can be steeped for 3 to 5 while earl gray should be steeped for longer.