What is cerebral spinal fluid?

Cerebrospinal fluid is a clear, colorless body fluid found within the tissue that surrounds the brain and spinal cord of all vertebrates. It acts as a shock absorber, cushion, or buffer, providing basic mechanical and immunological protection to the brain inside the skull.