How do you cook pasta alfredo?

Cook the pasta. Melt butter in a skillet on medium high heat. Add garlic & cook for 30 seconds. Pour in milk & cream. Stir consistently until the mixture comes to a boil. Turn the heat down to medium, and mix in the parmesan cheese, salt, and pepper. Adjust seasoning to taste. Let cool & add pasta.