Who invented chainmail?

Chainmail's invention is commonly credited to the Celts, but there are examples of Etruscan pattern mail dating from at least the 4th century BC. Mail may have been inspired by the much earlier scale armor. It's just been so long ago that nobody remembers an exact person who invented it.