What is lotus flower extract used for?

Lotus contains chemicals that decrease swelling, kill cancer cells and bacteria, reduce blood sugar, help the breakdown of fat, and protect the heart and blood vessels. Chemicals in lotus also seem to protect the skin, liver, and brain.

---

Lotus flowers, seed, leaves, and parts of the underground stem (rhizome) are used to make medicine. Lotus flowers are used to stop bleeding. Lotus seeds are used for disorders of the digestive tract, including diarrhea.