When was color tv mainstream?

The Color Revolution: Television In The Sixties. Although limited color broadcasts took place during the 1950s, it wasn't until the early 1960s that color TV started to take off. Thanks in large part to NBC, color TV grew at a furious pace, culminating in the color revolution of 1965.