Why does the porridge bird lay it's eggs in the air?

It is a common misconception that the porridge-bird (fictius custardius) lays its eggs in the air. The fact of the matter is, however, that the porridge-bird lays its eggs in small nests, built in the very tops of elm and oak trees.