What are the northern lights made out of?

Northern lights, also called aurora borealis, are caused by solar particles disturbing the Earth's magnetic field so that they fall into the upper atmosphere. The solar particles ionize the atmospheric particles, emitting light of varying color from the interaction, creating the Aurora.