Which state has the most animals?

California. The richness of California’s flora makes it a biodiversity hotspot even in global comparisons. A lot of that diversity is driven by the large variety of landscapes found in California, including the driest of deserts, lush coastal coniferous forests, salt marshes, and alpine tundra.