What is the difference between sparkling water and seltzer?

Seltzer is used interchangeably with sparkling water and soda water (a prewar term for the same thing). ... Seltzer water: artificially produced by passing pressurized carbon dioxide through water. Seltzer contains no added ingredients or flavorings.