Why is soy sauce salty?

Soy sauce is naturally very salty as the salt is a key ingredient of this condiment and essential for the fermentation process and desired taste. Sometimes, however, it can be the way that it was made or prepared; if too much of the liquid is boiled off it can concentrate the saltiness too much.