Why does the stork stand on one leg?

In short, the stork stands on one leg to conserve body heat. the arteries that carry blood into the legs lie in contact with the veins that return colder blood to the heart. By standing on one leg, a bird reduces by half the amount of heat lost through unfeathered limbs.