Why are belgian waffles called belgian waffles?

Because the waffle Belgian waffles refers to, are waffles from Liège, a city in the French part of Belgium. Liège waffles are well-known for their crunchy exterior and mellow sugary interior. It’s a yeast based recipe with pearlsugar.