Where do scarecrows come from?

It began when man turned from hunter gatherer to a farmer. Some smart farmer noticed birds can be fooled into thinking a dressed up figure is a living person on guard in a field. Scarecrows are used with crops that birds like, like corn, or crops in early stages of growth. The seedling stage