Is george strait a member of the grand old opry?

He is Not a Member of the Grand Ole Opry Although Strait has the credentials to be a part of the Opry, he has never been admitted . The Grand Ole Opry is in Nashville, making it difficult for Strait to make appearances on a regular basis from his home in Texas.