Who gave new york the statue of liberty?

The Statue of Liberty was a gift from the French people commemorating the alliance of France & the United States during the American Revolution. The statue was dedicated on October 28, 1886. It is located in the United States on Liberty Island, Manhattan, New York City, New York.