How many presidents have not taken a salary?

Congress required all presidents take a salary when George Washington took office. Washington accepted enough pay to cover his expenses. Herbert Hoover and John Kennedy, both independently wealthy, donated their full salaries to charity. Donald Trump donated about ¼ of his salary to charity.