How big is a supernova explosion?

A supernova is a massive explosion of a supergiant star. It is said to radiate with the brightness of 10 billion suns with a total energy output of 1044 joules. When a supernova explodes matter is expelled into space at some 9,000 to 25,000 miles (15,000 to 40,000 kilometers) per second.