What's the difference between a male and a kilometer?

A mile and a kilometer are both units of length or distance. Kilometers are used in the metric system and each one is about 6 tenths of a mile, which is used in the US standard system of measurement. A mile is longer than a kilometer. One mile is equal to 1.609 kilometers.