Why do leaves on plants turn yellow?

Poor drainage or improper watering. Water issues, either too much or too little, are the leading reason behind yellow leaves. In overly wet soil, roots can't breathe. They suffocate, shut down and stop delivering the water and nutrients plants need. Underwatering, or drought, has a similar effect.