How long have poodles been around?

The Kennel Club in England registered their first Poodle in 1874, with the first British club for Poodle fanciers arriving on the scene two years later. It's not known for sure when Poodles arrived in the U.S., but the American Kennel Club registered their first Poodle in 1886.