What's in sour cream?

Sour cream is made by adding lactic acid culture to cream and sometimes milk to thicken and sour it

---

Traditionally, sour cream was made by letting cream that was skimmed off the top of milk ferment at a moderate temperature. It can also be prepared by the souring of pasteurized cream with acid-producing bacterial culture.