What is a meteorite?

A meteorite is a chunk of a meteoroid that survived entry into Earth's atmosphere and fell to the ground.

---

In simplest terms, a meteorite is a rock that falls to Earth from space. Meteorites are rocks, but they are not like Earth rocks. Most are far older, and they provide some of the only samples we have of other worlds – other planets, asteroids and possibly comets.