What are wire worms?

From one-fourth to one and one-half inches in length and approximately one-eighth inch wide, wireworms are worm-like larvae that are yellow to reddish-brown in color. These larvae eat germinating seeds and stems of new plants, and cause wilting and death of the emerging plant.