Who built crazy horse?

The project was initiated in 1939 by Lakota elders, who wanted to create a giant rock sculpture to honor Crazy Horse. They hired Polish sculptor Korczak Kiolkowski. Considering that he was working either alone or with a very small staff, the progress made before his death in 1982 was admirable.