Is petroleum a liquid?

Petroleum, crude oil, varies widely from thinner than water to thicker than fudge. "Light-Sweet" crude oil is about as thin as motor oil and smells like diesel. Heavy crude is thick and has to be heated to be pumped. The smell is awful.