How do you know when boiled corn is ready?

When the corn is fully cooked the yellow color is more intense and the kernels are plumper and more tender. A fully cooked cob will steam dry within a few seconds when you lift it (with tongs) out of the water. You shouldn't need to cook fresh corn longer than 5-7 minutes.