Where did the phrase cut the cheese come from?

This idiom references the foul smell emitted by some cheeses many of which have a rind that keep the odor in. Once the rind is pierced, as in the case of slicing it, the not so pleasant smell is released. This smell can be remarkably similar to one passing gas.

---

"CUT" has been used for flatulence since the 1800's. Cheese was introduced into the mix in the late 1960's citing the dictionary of American Regional English.