What is a javelin antitank weapon?

The Javelin is an antitank missile system that locks onto a target's thermal picture. The soldier peers through a command launch unit and selects targets and attack types. When fired, the missile's launch motor thrusts it out of the tube before its primary motor turns on and sends the rocket flying.