What kind of tea did gandhi drink?

Gandhi was not a fan of tea. He denounced it as an "intoxicant," like tobacco. Although India is now the world's largest tea producer, tea was not a traditional beverage in India before the 1820s, when the British introduced large scale tea production as a lower cost alternative to Chinese tea.