How much force does it take to cut through steel?

Cutting through steel requires a tool that is sharper and harder than the steel to be cut. Mild steel can be cut with something as simple as a hacksaw. Some alloys of steel require diamond tools to cut. Only enough force to cause the tool to engage is needed. More force will damage the tool.