How can you tell if an egg is ok to eat?

To tell if an egg is o.k. to eat, place it in a bowl of water. If the egg lays on the bottom, it is fresh. If one end is tipping upwards & slanted, it is less than fresh, but still good. An egg that stands on one of its ends is stale, but immediately edible, and an egg that is floating is rotten.