What is the origin of the song jingle bells?

Jingle Bells was written by James Lord Pierpont and published under the title "The One Horse Open Sleigh" in September 1857.

---

It was written by James Lord Pierpont (1822–1893) and published under the title "The One Horse Open Sleigh" in September 1857. It has been claimed that it was originally written to be sung by a Sunday school choir for Thanksgiving, or as a drinking song.