What is murphy's law?

"Murphy's Law" is a humorous "law" that states: "if something CAN go wrong, it will go wrong." An example might be that after your alarm clock failed to go off, your car keys cannot be found and your cell phone battery is dead. While often used humorously, Murphy's Law has real world applications.