What do rats not like?

Many people believe that astringent, menthol, and spicy odors are disliked by rats. This makes peppermint oil, chili powder, citronella, and eucalyptus the most common natural rodent repellents. Chemical smells, such as ammonia, bleach, and mothballs also work as rat deterrents.